Seven Deadly What??

“ There are six things the Lord hates, seven that are detestable to Him: haughty eyes, a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush into evil, a false witness that pours out lies, and a person who stirs up conflict in a community”( Proverbs 6).

According to the Bible these are few of God’s not so favorite things.  In the culture that we live in today we don’t have people who are making it their job to try to avoid sin. We have people who are trying their best to not commit the worst sin. Well, I didn’t cheat on my significant other so I think God will understand if I cheat on this test. Or, I might have just made up a rumor about one of my “friends”,  but I’m not a drug addict or pregnant so my parents should just be happy about that. Just because we are not out there committing serious, or even against the law, sins doesn’t mean God is throwing a party up in heaven. I myself have fallen many a time into the trap of believing that just because I do mostly the right thing that that makes me right.

I have been trying recently to think of ideas that would be good for a new series on my blog, and then right in the middle of watching Criminal Minds on Netflix, it hit me. In Biblical history, and nowadays on popular prime time TV shows/ movies, there has been the controversy of the “seven deadly sins”. They are anger, greed, sloth, lust, envy, pride, and gluttony. These sins have been glorified by crime TV shows and strange DaVinci code books to have more weight than the original church meant for them to. However, it is worth noting that all these sins are still very prevalent in our society today, lurking behind things we pretend aren’t that bad. These seven sins are commonly referred to as the sins of self-idolatry, which if our culture should be known for anything it should be known for the emphasis we put on looking out for ourselves over others. Over my next couple of blog posts I will be unpacking these seven deadly sins and the way satan has them show up “harmlessly” in our culture today. Now these sins do not directly coincide with the sins listed in the Bible verse above, but these sins all do remain roots of the problems for the sins addressed in that verse. These sins can be seen as minor things, but if they are left untreated can result in corrupting our hearts and becoming much bigger problems than we ever intended.

The first step in any process is admitting a wrong. Are you willing to admit that you have sins in your life that may be minor, but also may be obscuring your relationship with God? Because I know I am.

One thought on “Seven Deadly What??

Leave a Reply

