Waiting for Mr. Right

“I am a Princess, not because I have a Prince. But because my father is the King and He is God. “

Being single is one of the hardest things to endure as a teenage girl. We all dream of that perfect guy God is going to bring us and until then we are plenty busy planning our nonexistent weddings on Pinterest. But doesn’t it all really suck? Especially when you are in college and your family members are constantly asking you, “So have you met any nice boys?” I have met tons of nice boys in college, but somehow I don’t think that’s what they mean.  No one likes waiting for Mr. Right especially when they are afraid that he is never going to come into the picture.

 It is hard to not have someone you like not be interested in you, or the wrong person be interested in you, or just plain have no one be interested in you. But take heart girls, God makes no mistakes. I used to be really upset in high school when guys I talked to or people I pursued relationships with never seemed to work out the way I wanted them to. But then I realized around my senior year how grateful I was to God for protecting me from the things I thought I wanted. So many of the people I liked and had spent nights crying about not liking me had turned out to be super gross and definitely far from anyone’s “prince charming”, much less my own. It says in Ecclesiastes that God’s timing is perfect.

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens.”  At 18 years of age I have plenty of time to meet the right boy, and so do all of you. We, unlike milk, won’t spoil or go bad from taking our time.

Sure sometimes it was rough not having a boyfriend in high school, but honestly it saved me from making a lot of bad mistakes and getting my heart broken. I think one of the awful things that girls have come to believe is that they need a boy to complete them, or that their key to happiness is having a boy call them pretty. Nothing is wrong with you if you aren’t dating anyone.  

We don’t need to be afraid of the future when we know that God has already planned it out for us. One of my favorite verses of the Bible is Jeremiah 29:11, “For I know the plans I have for you, declared the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you; plans to give you hope and a future.”

God has a plan for us right now, right this very moment. That means we need to be living our life right now and trying to fulfill God’s plan for us, not sitting around waiting for Mr. Right to ride in on his white horse. I know that waiting can be excruciatingly difficult but I’ve learned from experience that being unhappy when you are waiting won’t change anything. As the great C.S. Lewis once stated, “Don’t let your happiness depend on something you may lose.”

We need to take the time when we are single to strengthen our relationship with God and with other people, and not to worry. I know as a girl it is so hard to not worry that God isn’t going to bring me anyone, but I have to trust that He will and He’s just not finished with me yet. It’s hard to worry when I take a second and realize that the God of the universe has me in His hands. One day I hope I will finally meet Mr. Right and we can ride off into the sunset together and live happily ever after.  Until I do meet Mr. Right, I intend to live every day trying to make this next quote become true so I am ready when I do.

“A girl’s heart should be so lost in God that a guy has to seek Him to find her.” 

One thought on “Waiting for Mr. Right

Leave a Reply

