Is beauty truly fleeting?

For girls mornings are one of the hardest things about the day. The minute you wake up and have to go to the bathroom and look at yourself without any makeup on.  Inevitably we all think, “Wow, I look like crap.” Yet shouldn’t we be above this? The minute we are taught that we are made in God’s glorious image shouldn’t a light bulb just flick on and we have this incredible enlightening experience where we realize just how beautiful we are and never again doubt that. Well, if that is the case I must’ve missed the memo. Just because God thinks we are beautiful doesn’t necessarily mean we think we are.

One of the saddest thing I think that society has affected us with today would be insecurity. Hundreds of teenage girls everywhere are affected by eating disorders, major body image issues, and hating the reflection that stares back at them in the mirror. Yet I want to challenge this. Psalm 139 states very clearly, “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful and I know that full well.” We can hear that verse a million times and still not believe it. The truth is, God did make us exactly the way we are. He crafted us in our mother’s womb with such care, and every time that we pick ourselves apart in the mirror is insulting His brilliant creation.

Satan knows full well how we as teenage girls are susceptible to these insecurities, and that we care much more than we should if people think we are attractive. He can use his lies on us to make us believe that we just need to lose a little weight to feel happy, or that the next color we dye our hair will finally make us feel beautiful. But his lies are just that, untruths that we waste our time and energy believing.

Those of you that know me, know that I am very tall for a girl. I stand 5’8 and ¾ inches (yes when you’re tall you tend to be exact) tall and I am proud that, but I didn’t use to be. I used to hate my height. It felt like it was this awful curse that I was doomed to deal with until I died or married someone who was 6’6’ (neither have happened), but one day I just decided enough was enough. I was sick of not wearing heels because I didn’t want to be any taller, sick of slouching around everyone, and just sick of tearing myself down over something I had no control over. It didn’t happen overnight but after lots of prayer and trying to think positively, I embraced my height. Now I love being tall and wearing heels because I finally realized that God made me tall for a reason (hopefully one that includes a very tall boy). It made me realize that us hating things about ourselves and praying that we look like someone else was like rejecting a gift that someone had taken great care to get for us.

Isn’t it crazy to realize that the God that sculpted the mountains, who placed the stars in the sky, who makes gorgeous sunsets also created you? I believe that every day God’s heart is breaking over the girls He sees crying because they feel like they are ugly. It breaks my heart too, and often times I am one of those girls who is looking in the mirror wondering why I can’t look like Selena Gomez. But God didn’t create us to feel insecure, to compare ourselves to others, to hate being in our own skin. God made us for a great purpose and with great purpose. So the next time you’re staring in the mirror hoping you can mentally fix one of your imperfections stop and remember that God doesn’t make mistakes, not ever.   To Him you are much more than a beautiful girl He has crafted lovingly, but a daughter that looks just like Him.

Leave a Reply

